Juan Williams, Fox News and Ambassador Audrey Marks

Multicultural Media Correspondents Dinner; (l-r) Ambassador Thelma Phillip-Browne, St. Kitts and Nevis; Rev. Janelle Johnson, Author; Ambassador Lou-Anne Gilchrist, St. Vincent ad the Grenadines. Photo credit: CeCe Cole/Silke Endress

The second annual Multicultural Media Correspondents Dinner (MMCD) at the National Press Club in Washington, DC, honoring Fox’s Juan Williams as Television Broadcast Journalist of the Year kicked off with a warm welcome from Aaron Manaigo, Co-Chair of the MMCD Planning Committee, “there is a lot of tension in the air in Washington, DC right now” said Aaron T. Manaigo, Co-Chair of the event. “If only for one night, our unique showcase to honor multicultural excellence in media presents an opportunity for folks of all stripes to come together, laugh a little and just let some of the steam out of the pipes.”  David Morgan, Co-Chair of MMCD gave a very passionate speech about Vote it Loud and the purpose of MMCD stating it’s a “vision of a powerful collective, inclusive and sustained effort to honor media luminaries and secure media diversity.”

Multicultural Media Correspondents Dinner; (l-r) Juan Williams, Fox News Contributor and Television Broadcast Journalist of the Year. Photo credit: CeCe Cole/Silke Endress

Others honored: Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-Calif.), founder of the Multicultural Media Caucus; House Communications Subcommittee Chairman Greg Walden (R-Ore.) the Congressional Advocate Awards for championing diversity in the media; Robert Rodriguez, El Rey Networks, Broadcast Media Owner of the Year; Suzanne Gamboa, NBC Latino – Fifth Estate, New Media Broadcast Executive; Traci G. Lee, NBC Asian America – Fifth Estate, New Media Broadcast Executive; Cherylyn Harley LeBon, The Conservative Blog – Fifth Estate, New Media Print Executive; Joe Madison, Sirius XM – Radio Journalist of the Year; Helen Zia, Women’s Media Center – Print Journalist of the Year; Dr. Ben Chavis, National Newspaper Publishers Association – Media Advocacy Organization of the Year; Monique Nelson, Uniworld Group – Media Advertising Executive of the Year; Lamia Rezgui, Voice of America – International Journalist of the Year.